American Library Association Committee on Accreditation

Actions Taken – Annual Conference 2015 Issued July 14, 2015

Members of the 2014-2015 ALA Committee on Accreditation: Mary Stansbury (Chair), Elizabeth Aversa, Anthony Bernier, Jean Donham, Brad Eden, Joan Giesecke, Joan Howland, Laura Neumann, Irene Owens, Terry Weech, Candace Wells, and Vicki Williamson.

The Committee on Accreditation took the following actions at its June 27-28, 2015, meeting:

Accreditation Decisions

Continued accreditation was granted to the following program, with the next comprehensive review visit scheduled to take place in spring 2022:

Master of Information Sciences at the University of Puerto Rico

Continued accreditation with release from Conditional accreditation status was granted to the following program, with the next comprehensive review visit scheduled to take place in spring 2022:

Master of Science in Information and Library Science at the University at Buffalo, State University of New York.

Accreditation was withdrawn from the following program:

Master of Arts in Library Science at the University of Missouri. An appeal is pending.

External Review Panel Appointments

Approved External Review Panels (ERP) for fall 2016 comprehensive review visits to University of British Columbia, McGill University, North Carolina Central University, Pratt Institute, University of Southern California, and Wayne State University.

Approved ERP chairs for spring 2017 comprehensive review visits to University of Alabama, University of Michigan, University of Rhode Island, Texas Woman's University, and University of Toronto.

Other Committee & ALA Matters

Conducted an open session at the Moscone Convention Center entitled "ALA Accreditation: External Review Process and Standards Update."