American Library Association Committee on Accreditation

Accreditation Decisions and Actions Taken – Spring 2020 Meeting (May 1, 2020)

Members of the 2018-2019 ALA Committee on Accreditation: Loretta Parham (Chair), Eric Albright, Rachel Applegate, Theresa Byrd, Kathleen De Long, David Eichmann, Mary Gregoire, Dale McNeill, Athena Salaba, Linda Smith, Karen Snow, and David Weigle.

At its Spring Meeting, held May 1, 2020, the ALA Committee on Accreditation (COA) took the following actions:

Reports from programs

Reviewed and responded to the following reports from accredited programs and programs with Candidacy or Precandidacy status: 65 annual statistical data reports, 20 biennial narrative reports, one Precandidacy application, and three special reports.

Reviewed evidence of programmatic performance and student achievement accessible via program webpages.

Committee Matters

Approved to delay all scheduled comprehensive review visits by one year due to considerations regarding COVID-19, with no changes to the interim reporting schedule.