GODORT Technology Committee ALA Annual June 30, 2020, 10 a.m. CST

Attendees: Lora Amsberryaugier (co-chair), Suzanne Reinman (co-chair), Monifa Carter, Lisa Hartman, Ben Chiewphasa, Samantha Hager, Susanne Caro, Lynda Kellam, Hallie Pritchett, and five other participants.

The Technology Committee is responsible for maintaining and updating GODORT's website, including regularly soliciting content from other GODORT committees, task forces, and interest groups, granting and revoking access to GODORT's LibGuides account for current and outgoing committee members, and creating and maintaining guidelines, timelines, and best practices for GODORT's online platforms.

Pritchett and Kellam acknowledged that "GODORT News" (on site mainpage) needs further investigating re: how to be more frequent on updates. Pritchett suggested that the committee investigate how news gets populated (i.e., GODORT-specific metadata through ALA) and also reaching out to Danielle, ALA liaison, to ask relevant/timely questions.

Amsberryaugier asked for clarification re: Technology Committee's role in social media efforts. Chiewphasa mentioned how a Media and Outreach Working Group, formed earlier this year, has sent recommendations re: the handling of social media to Steering committee—to be reviewed and discussed with Steering on July 2nd, 2020 at 1PM CST. The Media and Outreach Working Group recommends that Steering form an ongoing committee to conduct social media work for GODORT. Also recommended: this committee should be formed either as a Standing Committee or as a sub-committee or panel to the Technology Committee.

Amsberryaugier asked who is currently in charge of Facebook. Pritchett and Chiewphasa mention how it's currently piecemeal with multiple editors. Sarah Ereckson and Chiewphasa are currently editors alongside others.

The committee has figured out a workaround with authentication issues (specifically: handling cell phone/email authorization codes when logging into Gmail accounts). This issue had prevented members from accessing the <u>godorttechnology@gmail.com</u> inbox.

- All committee minutes uploaded to website and will continue to be updated (see below for assignments).
- File naming structure in place:
 - o CommitteeNameAbbreviation_yyyymmdd_MWminutes
 - o CommitteeNameAbbreviation_yyyymmdd_Annualminutes
- Committee chairs have been contacted to solicit content. Protocol in-place for future contacts.
- Chair member of Publications Committee, Suzanne Reinman attending.
- Drafted and modified PPM posted on March 20, 2020.

Amsberryaugier asked if there should be a designated admin for GODORT Libguides. Pritchett is in favor of designating admins and/or creating protocol for granting and revoking access; the reason is that people rotate off, abruptly leave, etc., so there should be a coordinated effort of who can and cannot access.

Amsberryaugier mentioned how a future iteration of the PPM will embed file naming conventions and accompanying best practices.

Amsberryaugier likes the idea of welcoming interns into the committee (as stated in the PPM), especially for an avenue for LIS student involvement, but questioned how participation is solicited. Pritchett stated that if there is someone what wants to volunteer, they are always welcome to reach out, although there is no system in place for solicitation. Hager's anecdotal observation: the intern does not necessarily have to be an LIS student.

Recordings from GODORT webinars should be posted on the GODORT YouTube channel and posted onto the Webinar section of the GODORT site. Kellam reminded the committee that the "Civic Duty: Libraries and the Disenfranchised" program from this year's ALA has been posted on YouTube. If the ALA website has file-size restrictions that prevent the files themselves from being posted, links to the YouTube channel could be used instead. There was a discussion on how the videos might be **archived**. Amazon web services does backup/archiving at reasonable

• The GODORT Chair page

Suzanne

Legislation Committee

Membership Committee

Program Committee

Publications Committee